Pluralism and Responsibility. Media in the Digital Society

29 October 2020 from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm

Final event in the digital conference series on EU media policy

The results of the digital conference series “Pluralism and Responsibility: Media in the Digital Society” will be summarised at this final event. Following reports from the five focus sessions that took place in autumn 2020, Maria Donde (EPRA), Aura Salla (Facebook) and Michael Seemann (journalist) will comment on the results. In a closing panel, Sabine Verheyen (MEP), Giuseppe Abbamonte (COM), State Secretary Heike Raab (Rhineland-Palatinate) and Tom Buhrow (ARD) will discuss these results from the perspective of the EU, the federal states and public service broadcasting. Prof Dr Wolfgang Schulz (HBI) will conclude with a look at a possible regulatory framework for the media of the future. Minister of State Prof Monika Grütters will sum up the results of the media conference series for the German Presidency. The event will be moderated by journalist Marianna Evenstein (Deutsche Welle).

Partner: Medientage München

Welcome to the digital conference series Pluralism and Responsibility. Media in the Digital Society!
The Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media would like to use the opportunity offered by Germany’s EU Council Presidency to help ensure media pluralism in Europe. The COVID-19 pandemic has clearly highlighted the importance of quality journalism and an independent and diverse media landscape for the democratic process of opinion-formation.
The digital conference series Pluralism and Responsibility. Media in the Digital Society is intended to foster a European debate on ensuring media pluralism. The series will run from 7 July to 29 October 2020 and is made up of a kick-off event, five focus sessions and a final event.
The conference series is being held in cooperation with the Leibniz Institute for Media Research | Hans-Bredow-Institut and the German federal states in cooperation with the Institute of European Media Law, the European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services, the European Audiovisual Observatory and Deutsche Welle.

This conference series is co-funded by the European Commission.